Home
Stiftungsrat
Stifterrat
Vorstand
Abraham Geiger Kolleg
Kontakt
 
 

Abraham Geiger Kolleg

1942 schlossen die Nationalsozialisten die Hochschule für die Wissenschaft des Judentums in Berlin - das Ende einer Ära, die mit Abraham Geiger ihren Anfang genommen hatte. 1836 hatte dieser die Gründung einer jüdisch-theologischen Fakultät gefordert, um sich im Geist akademischer Freiheit der jüdischen Tradition zu widmen.

Das Abraham Geiger Kolleg ist das erste Rabbinerseminar in Mitteleuropa nach der Schoah. Es ist eine private, nicht gewinnorientierte Einrichtung, gefördert aus privaten und öffentlichen Mitteln, die sich das Ziel gesetzt hat, Rabbinerinnen und Rabbiner für jüdische Gemeinden in Mittel- und Osteuropa auszubilden.

Die Ausbildung am Abraham Geiger Kolleg hat drei Säulen:

  • Hohes akademisches Niveau durch eine breite Kursauswahl in Potsdam und Berlin. Das Studium mündet in einen Masterabschluss in Jüdischen Studien der Universität Potsdam.
  • Professionelle Begleitung der Studenten in ihrer praktischen Ausbildung durch psychosoziale Betreuung
  • oaching der seelsorgerischen Praxis durch ein rabbinisches Mentorensystem

Rabbinische Studien werden in dem umfassenden Lehrplan des Instituts für Jüdische Studien an der Universität Potsdam verankert und so in das große Umfeld einer Universität eingebettet. Dies wird das Verständnis des Judentums in einem pluralistischen Zusammenhang fördern. Das Abraham Geiger Kolleg ist Mitglied der Weltunion für progressives Judentum. Seine Absolventen werden von der Zentralkonferenz amerikanischer Rabbiner aufgenommen.

Website Abraham Geiger Kolleg

 
Copyright 2009 - 2011 by Leo Baeck Foundation | Realized by m-worx.net Webdesign

Home
Trustees
Benefactors
Executive
Abraham Geiger College
Contact
 
 

Abraham Geiger College

In 1942, the Nazis closed the Hochschule für die Wissenschaft des Judentums (College for the Scientific Study of Judaism) in Berlin. It was the end of an era that began in 1836 with Abraham Geiger's call for the founding of a Jewish theological department at a university. Geiger envisioned a school both dedicated to Jewish tradition and committed to the principle of academic freedom.

Abraham Geiger College is the first liberal rabbinical seminary founded in Continental Europe since the Shoah. It is a private, not-for-profit institution drawing funds from private and public sources. Its mission is the education of Rabbis for Jewish communities in Central and Eastern Europe.

Education at Abraham Geiger College embraces three principles:

  • High academic standards with a broad selection of courses in Potsdam and Berlin, leading to an M.A. in Jewish Studies,
  • Support of the students during their practical training regarding psychological guidance and pastoral concerns, and
  • Guidance of the students in their pastoral practice through rabbinical mentorship

Rabbinic studies are integrated into the extensive curriculum of the College for Jewish Studies at the University of Potsdam, providing the ambience and resources of a large, secular state university. This in turn helps promote understanding of Judaism within a pluralistic context. Abraham Geiger College is a member of the World Union for Progressive Judaism. Its graduates are taken up into the Central Conference of American Rabbis.

Website Abraham Geiger College

 
Copyright 2009 - 2011 by Leo Baeck Foundation | Realized by m-worx.net Webdesign